Which of the Following Is a Movement From the Suite in D Major From Handel

We can’t all be music experts, but that doesn’t mean we can’t appreciate a good piece of music when we hear it. So, which of the following is a movement from the suite in D major from Handel?

Checkout this video:


There is no precise answer to this question since the suite in D Major from Handel is a collection of pieces that can be performed in any order. However, some of the most popular movements from this suite include “Allegro,” “Presto,” “Adagio,” and “Fugue.”

The Suite in D Major

The Suite in D Major is a series of six dance movements composed by George Frideric Handel. The movements are Allemande, Courante, Sarabande, Air, Gigue, and Hornpipe.

The Movement from the Suite

There are many movements in the Suite in D Major from Handel, but the one that is most often heard is the “Allegro.” This movement is lively and fast-paced, and it is a good representation of the entire suite.

Handel and the Suite in D Major

The Suite in D Major is one of Handel’s most famous works. It is a beautifully composed piece that has been performed by many orchestras over the years. The Suite in D Major is comprised of four movements, each of which has its own unique character.

The Significance of the Movement

The Suite in D Major is a significant work by Handel. The piece is characterized by its grandiose scale and intricate counterpoint. The Suite in D Major is believed to be one of the first works in which Handel utilized the full capabilities of the orchestra. The work demonstrated his mastery of the form and his ability to create a work that was both structurally sound and aesthetically pleasing.

The Structure of the Movement

The structure of the movement is typical of a Baroque dance suite. It consists of an opening allegro section followed by a series of contrasting dances. The first dance is a stately sarabande, followed by a lively jig (the gigue). The third dance is a slower air (the adagio), and the final dance is a lively Bourrée.

The Melodic Elements of the Movement

Handel’s Suite in D Major is a work for solo keyboard, written in the form of a dance suite. The first movement, “Prelude,” is a lively opening piece that establishes the key of D Major. The melodic elements of the movement are primarily scale passages and arpeggios, with some chordal passages as well. The second movement, “Allemande,” is a more subdued piece in which the melodic emphasis is on longer phrases and complex chordal progressions. The third movement, “Courante,” is another lively piece, similar in style to the “Prelude.” The fourth movement, “Sarabande,” is a slow and stately dance in which the melody is primarily carried by sustained chords. The fifth and final movement, “Gigue,” is a fast and energetic dance that brings the suite to a conclusion.

The Harmonic Elements of the Movement

There are several important harmonic elements in this piece that contribute to its overall feel and emotional character. Firstly, the use of chords helps to create a sense of movement and forward momentum. The use of different chord progressions also helps to add interest and variety to the music. Additionally, the use of suspirating resolutions helps to create a feeling of tension and release, which can be quite emotive.

The Form of the Movement

The form of the movement is ABA’. The first section (A) is in binary form, while the second section (B) is in ternary form. The third section (A’) is a reprise of the first section.


We have looked at the different movements in the Suite in D Major from Handel, and we can see that there is a lot of variety between them. However, we can also see that the overall structure of the suite is quite simple, with each movement following a similar pattern. This makes it easy to identify which of the following is a movement from the suite:

-The first movement is an introductory prelude, which sets the mood for the rest of the suite.
-The second movement is an allegro, which is a lively and fast-paced piece.
-The third movement is a sarabande, which is a slow and stately dance.
-The fourth movement is a gigue, which is a light and playful dance.

Scroll to Top